Modify the Number of Retail Liquor Licenses Allowed in Certain Municipalities

Last updated: Apr 3, 2019

Details about this bill
Category: Alcohol / Tobacco / Guns
Status: Defeated
Sponsor: Senator Matt Pouliot, Senate 15 - Kennebec County
Session: 129
Bill #: LD 1020




This bill allows the Department of Administrative and Financial Services, Bureau of Alcoholic Beverages and Lottery Operations to license up to 8 agency liquor stores in a municipality with a population of at least 16,001 but less than 30,001; current law requires a population of at least 20,001 before a municipality qualifies for 8 agency liquor stores. The population threshold to qualify for 5 agency liquor stores remains at 10,001.